Ooh La La Land

By Sue Trollip

I went to see La La Land at my favourite movie theatre down by the river. As luck would have it I got the times wrong and had an hour to spare downtown. So, I walked alongside the pounding river, tripping over sandbags from nearby businesses who were preparing for the impending flood. The drizzle made me smile as I walked around the square because a farmer’s daughter will always love the rain.

Doubling back to the cozy jungle café for a sandwich, I gazed at the damp pedestrians, listened to the rain, yearned for the sunshine. Then I got down to the serious business of movie watching.

Emma Stone, versatile and resonating and Ryan Gosling, a man who plays a lovesick sap and a cold hard killer with equal aplomb, sang, danced and fell in love. Then the movie got real. Heartache, life, careers, dreams, aspirations, regrets, decisions. I loved it!

2 thoughts on “Ooh La La Land

  1. I loved this movie too!

  2. jac says:

    Lucky you Sue. Sounds a very good watch indeed – it’s been nominated for BAFTA ? or Sundance or … but it looks really good. Please send us your rain, as much as possible. CT is drying up and it’s over 85o humidity here today, almost as bad as Durbs.

Leave a Reply

