Flicks, movies, cinema, magic on the big screen

by Sue Trollip

Way, way back we had a station wagon and on Saturday nights the family would drive 20 minutes down the road to the drive-in. Ah yes, those were the days – Bugs Bunny, popcorn and a blanket in the back of the car – then I’d pass out, I assume my siblings followed shortly thereafter and Mom and Dad got to watch their movie.

I love movies. It may stem from those memories. It may be that I  enjoy an escape from reality. I don’t mind the reasons behind it, all I know is that I need to watch them on that huge screen, often.

Near me now, is a lovely cinema on the river, with free parking. It has a charm to it that I’m not sure how to describe – it’s down town and earthy – I suppose that does it.

There’s also the luxury theatre that sells cold beer, red wine and nachos, as well as coke and popcorn with your movie ticket. But the best part is the reclining seats. Like the comfort of home with a screen the size of … well way bigger than your TV.Galaxy Luxury+ IMAX Legends - Sparks, NV, United States. Awesome sunset walking up to the IMAX! Had to snap a photo

And whooohoo, there’s a drive-in too … duvets in bakkies, deck chairs and pillows, snacks, drinks and staying awake for the whole movie.

West Wind El Rancho 4 Drive-In - Sparks, NV, United States. Drive-in at sunset. Almost movie time.

Now I just have to decide where I’m going to watch the movie of Jojo Moyes book: Me Before You. It will have to be somewhere closeby where I can weep waterfalls then go home and hide under my duvet with a cup of tea.

And … very shortly after that I will go and watch The Meddler with Susan Sarandon. Just to keep things on an even keel. And because I think Susan Sarandon is fabulous.

Oooh … good times ahead.

2 thoughts on “Flicks, movies, cinema, magic on the big screen

  1. jac dowling says:

    Oh wowzer Sue – what a choice! SOOOOOO civilised. Hmmm. I remember the good old drive-ins – Dr Zhivago (4 th time of viewing), Mary Poppins (okay I hear you) and plenty of skopskiet. I guess they just wouldn’t be safe places here anymore, such a shame. We always had a good picnic basket to keep us going with a supply of warming libations…and other creature comforts. Enjoy my friend, enjoy.

  2. Susan says:

    Ah, Sue – you have your movie world well-organised! The drive-in sounds like the best place to watch “Me Before You” so you can blub and howl in solitary splendour surrounded by tissues. Just make sure you can see to drive home afterwards, though!

    I love Jojo Moyes’ other books but nothing will induce me to read that particular one, or watch the movie, because I remember your reaction when you (and a few other brave souls) read it and I just can’t. Now if they made a movie of “The Girl You Left Behind” I’d be there!

Leave a Reply

