Cross Buns

By Hazel Bond

Hot Cross Buns I

 

 

 

 

 

“I have hot cross buns for tea

Won’t you come have some with me?”

I said I would and so I went

On this small pleasure truly bent.

“They’ve been a little time in thawing.

I took them from deep freeze this morning.”

She said, while spreading butter thick.

I saw it was inclined to stick.

“I do so love a hot cross bun,”

She said and then, “I’m glad you’ve come.”

 

I thanked her for the tea and talk.

I thanked her for the buns, of course.

But manners did prevent the mention,

My friend was guilty of deception.

Each cross was plain and very clear.

Sultanas popped up here and there.

The buns were really nice and spicy,

If, indeed, a little icy.

But though, three times, she mentioned how

She loved a hot cross bun, somehow

The only thing that they were not

Was hot!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Cross Buns

  1. jac dowling says:

    Delightful Hazel – I, too, love hot cross buns but they DO need to be hot and…they don’t enjoy being toasted! thank you so much.

  2. Susan says:

    Lovely, Hazel – there’s nothing quite as satisfying as hot cross buns indeed.

  3. Sue says:

    Another lovely poem – thanks for the laugh!

  4. Hazel Bond says:

    Thank you all for your kind comments. i had fun writing it some years ago.

Leave a Reply

