Green are the hills

By Sue Trollip

Two years already, a scary thought, a happy thought. Truth to the adage that while some things change some stay the same. And everything’s the same. And everything’s different. English first language, with so many varying accents and still people who don’t listen with their brains. Words like ‘tardy’ and ‘vacation’ instead of ‘late’ and ‘holiday’.

I’ve been watching Gary, Tank Commander, it’s silly but I enjoy those thick Scottish accents. Half the time I’m laughing because I have no idea what has just been said, ‘You ken when you just don’t ken?’ Then there’s Death in Paradise set on a fictional Caribbean island. And something about those accents that stirs my imagination. Pina Colada, lapping waves, hot sun, juicy fruits, what’s not to like – except all those deaths.

I am learning to speak at a slower pace, to understand that blank look in someone’s eyes. That when I’m telling my boss, who is new in town, about the danger of bears, he thinks I am a strange foreign woman who is afraid of bees.

And I’ve realized in this dramatic semi-desert I now call home, that it’s quite alright to miss the green green grass of the motherland.

The Mooi and the Truckee

4 thoughts on “Green are the hills

  1. jac dowling says:

    Perfect Sue. I managed to slide one down and the other up…love your sentiments. What about scone and biscuit, faucet and dirt? Please keep on writing and good luck with it.

  2. Sue says:

    Ha, thanks Jac, there are so many more and I just keep slipping … dirt bin, seems to floor people too – ah well, keeps things interesting.

  3. Susan says:

    Well done on hitting the two year mark,Sue. I can imagine that trying to translate into Americanese is even harder than trying to put it into Australianese. At least I can still use the same spelling here…

Leave a Reply

