Rose Tinted Specs

By Jac Dowling

All in all it’s been a pretty good month so far, apart from the extreme heat and humidity, which knocks Durbs into a cocked hat. I’ve spent a good deal of time with my nose in a book or wallowing in tepid pool water. Mind you, one shouldn’t complain. Upcountry they’re experiencing the worst drought in living memory with a consequent massive crop and stock loss – our cricketers appear to be similarly drought-stricken and the England team will be toy-toying all the way back home! So why is my month turning out to be a good one?

After months and months of angst I had a cataract removed and new lens inserted in my seeing eye. Bingo, suddenly the Danger Point lighthouse came into sharp focus across the bay, ships are visible on the horizon, dolphins and whales have form and clarity and I can see almost as far as Cape Point when driving. Previously this was a problem as the end of the road tended to have a hazy appearance and street signs were illegible. Today I got the all-clear and will soon be collecting new prescription specs.

kerinrosesunglasses-blog480

runway.blogs.nytimes.com

Then, to add to my happy month, the Hermanus Times gave me a centrehermanus_times spread in colour, which they’re hoping will act as bait for others to write in with their travel stories.

Yesterday I had to take the car for an oil change at Superquick which has recently changed hands. It was with some trepidation that I booked in and sat down to read my way through their mound of Getaway aimagesnd Time magazines. We knew the old franchisee well, lovely man who helped everyone and I thought no-one could possible take his place. Wrong.

They couldn’t have been more welcoming, friendly or efficient. There were several of us of a similar age waiting for things to be done; so often one’s made to feel a bit of a ‘nana and a nuisance because of age, hair colour, lack of fleetness of foot (!) and other things
which tend to catch up. Not so here. They did a great job and I’m came home with a grin from ear to ear.

So, to date only good things have happened in my small world. My specs, when they arrive, will make an even greater difference to the way things are viewed – and they will definitely be rose tinted!

3 thoughts on “Rose Tinted Specs

  1. jac dowling says:

    Love the illustrations Sue – especially the rosy specs! I’d actually contemplated ordering an upswept diamante job, also with roses around the door…but these are just right. EN HT Jou Koerant! who said I’m not totally bilingual? hey?

  2. Susan says:

    Nice one, Jac. Glad you are able to look forward to better vision, especially through rose-tinted specs!

Leave a Reply

