Food tube, cupcake wars, a veritable feast

By Sue Trollip

When one of your favourite chefs (Hello Jamie Oliver!) hits food tube it’s impossible to stay calm. Perfect poached eggs, heavenly pancakes, the recipes go on and on.

I decided to try the pancakes, I’m a big fan and these are a healthier option.

So this is how you do it…

And this is what I got. Too delicious.

20160124_095526_resized

While I am vehemently opposed to reality TV, I manage to justify watching cooking challenge shows. (They’re not the quintessential reality TV show, I tell myself, because there’s no time for back stabbing and scheming. There’s only time for cooking.)

So, after spending many a delectable evening watching The Great British Bake Off I was excited when my niece introduced me to Cupcake Wars.

A plate of cupcakes.

Tim Burton inspired Cupcake Wars

I haven’t tried the cupcakes yet, but watch this space.

Nom nom nom.

8 thoughts on “Food tube, cupcake wars, a veritable feast

  1. jac dowling says:

    Superb – I’m all a-drool and will send on to various smallish people in the family. Your pancakes look just so scrummy Sue I feel like having a crack myself and see whether, after 150 years or close to, I manage to achieve an un-burnt pancake or flapjack!

  2. jac dowling says:

    I did, but it seems to have evaporated – ?

  3. Susan says:

    I got totally hooked on Jamie Oliver’s original TV series and tried some of his recipes, but somehow my efforts never seemed to come out looking quite as good as his…

    • Sue says:

      Yes, I have a few recipe books of his and nothing is quite as it should be, but I think it’s because I don’t have quite so many ingredients at hand, and have to wash my own dishes!! That’s why I like FoodTube, its sort of a quick lesson.

  4. jac dowling says:

    Join the clan Susan – I’ve actually more or less given up baking; after the last disaster when I cooked scones on grill…and there was no time for repair work as I’d invited friends from the UK to pop in. Fortunately they’ve both got a sense of humour and sort of nibbled off most of the burnt bits and choked on the rest.

    • Sue says:

      I love it! I hope they appreciated the effort. I’ve decided biscuits (cookies) are now the way to go … they’re simple and quick and fairly difficult to burn … she says crossing her fingers.

Leave a Reply

