Year End to Boot

by Penny M

I watched my granddaughter kick her three year old body a few paces beneath the surface of the swimming pool towards the safety of mmarlin_doryy daughter’s arms. Besides the size of her, there seemed to be no difference to last time I witnessed such a feat, eighteen months ago. My respect for her paid swimming teacher
bottomed out with the pool cleaner that creeps around in confinement, sucking dirt and chugging incessantly.

I’m in one of those ‘treading water’ moments between Christmas and New Year when everyone has their brakes on. Don’t get me wrong, I love family times and am especially blessed this year to be away with them in Australia, but inertia is my worst enemy.

Being still in small doses is okay, but lengths of sultry days without the company of energy bunnies who are doing more than just living life; this is a new challenge. Not long ago, just over two years, I was a sixteen-hour-a-day employee in an eight-hour-a-day job. I couldn’t wait to put the brakes on to concentrate on things of eternal value, follow my destiny. In the last year, I have been so blessed and learnt so much about myself. I was keen to make a difference , but it hasn’t happened yet. I’m still splashing across the pond of my existence in the hope that someday I will reach the other side.

Perhaps I am suffering from the after effects of reading Brian Houston’s excellent book called Live, Love, Lead.  Encouraged and inspired, I’m anxious to get on with it, conscious that time is slipping by unharnessed. All I can do is blog and wait.

I should be reading more, writing more, seeing more, doing more, meeting more people.

Instead I stopped off for the holidays like everybody else.

James Turner, local pastor of Hillsong Coomera, gave a rousing sermon yesterday on fruitfulness. He had noticed that we all seem to reserve our good intentions for 1st January each year; but what about today? I was ready for action and wanted to dash off to feed some poor fellow or encourage a lonely heart. Instead, it is still Christmas/New Year for those who know where they are but didn’t hear the message. I have to refrigerate my enthusiasm before it melts into oblivion.

It’s not all bad – I have a novella that could use a kick and a knitted clown in desperate need of arms, hands, a face etcetera – poor Bertie Bloomer didn’t get finished in time for Christmas Day, much to my granddaughter’s surprise. Perhaps that’s what triggered my mood – I missed a deadline and tripped over my disappointment. So, while the rest of the family are out partying, I need to kick butt and at least get Bertie finished before year end.

Wishing all our readers a splashing kick of a year in 2016 – if you start now, you have a whole year left to make a difference.

 

Photograph courtesy http://homekeepingtheadventure.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/just-keep-swimming/

4 thoughts on “Year End to Boot

  1. Susan says:

    Penny, this epitomizes the year-end so well, especially when you are spending it with family you haven’t spent Christmas with in a while. I too feel energized and ready for the New Year for the first time in months. Part of me wants to rush things and get on with writing, planning, etc, but another part of me wants to relax and soak up that easy ambience of enjoying quality time with close family for the first time in ages. For now, breathe deeply, eat slowly, dream of beauty and soak in the world around you because all too soon it will change and the rest of the planet will start to chase you. Hope you have a fantastic 2016!

  2. Sue says:

    What about today? I love that question and have been thinking a lot about it. How to make the most of today. How to do something fun, exciting, exhilarating, scary today, tomorrow, everyday.

Leave a Reply

