Counting Blessings

by Jac Dowling

Before you decide not to read this, let me assure you that it’s not a tract or a sermon! Simply an audit of recent happenings in my life for which I have every reason to be profoundly grateful.

Two weeks ago, during a guest Friday tea at the library, my ‘seeing’ eye packed up – a fog descended and I was terrified that it was going the way of the left eye. Our optician saw me within half an hour, contacted a brilliant young surgeon who was just on his way back to the Bellville eye hospital – he stayed on, saw me, set my mind at rest and operated last Wednesday to remove the cataract and replace the lens.

Now, I asked him to go ahead in full knowledge that there was no standby if things went wrong; which is not a happy situ for any surgeon. The staff at our local Mediclinic were absolutely superb, right through to the theatre sister who sat next to me and held my hand throughout!! Wow.

So, the blessings began with all my family and friends who have given me their quiet support knowing how nervous I was of the whole thing … many of them prayed, and I believe it helped.   Not being a church-goer, I have, however, never lost faith in a greater spirit, but many of my friends are staunch members of local churches and went about their business quietly and, it appears, efficiently. Their messages during the last few weeks have shown me just how much they care. That has to be a singular blessing. Then Dr Grove who did it all – no blessing big enough for him.

I suppose I’m still slightly shell-shocked but needed to put it down and realise, yet again, how very special you all are.   And how humbly thankful I am to have so many friends who really DO care.

Thank you.

jac

eyes

7 thoughts on “Counting Blessings

  1. Susan says:

    So glad to hear that it all went well and that you are back up and running.

    • jac says:

      Thank you Susan – not sure about the running bit, more of a potter I’m afraid, but that has nothing to do with sight!!! Hope your end is all coming together as you would wish.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Loss of eyesight would be frightening. It is a sense most of us are highly dependent on. Glad to know it all went well and that you are able to look back on it with a sense of gratefulness.

  3. jac dowling says:

    Thank you Jannat – frightening it was but yes, grateful I certainly am – and will remain so.

  4. Sue says:

    You’re a brave woman Jac, I’m so glad it paid off, the world is better through rose tinted glasses, not a blur.

Leave a Reply

