Kamakazi chipmunks on the Legacy Trail

By Sue Trollip

It’s is a fact universally known, to chipmunk aficionados, that chipmunks are most active early in the morning and late in the afternoon. This would explain why, when I wake at dawn, (well maybe just after, but it’s early), and hop onto my bicycle and race to work, I am dodging and swaying through the scurry of chipmunks.

Ground SquirrelYes, people refer to them as rodents, pests and other unkind things, but when you’re on your bicycle in the woods they are too adorable.

They do have a tendency to run next to you, or into you (no chipmunks were harmed in the research for this blog), so I’m not going to credit them with large brains. But they do seem friendly and I like that on my lonely morning ride along the river bank.

lt

10 thoughts on “Kamakazi chipmunks on the Legacy Trail

  1. jac says:

    Adorable they certainly are Sue-lucky you having them

  2. jac says:

    Lucky you having them as road mates! They certainly have loads of street cred and I’d choose them over baboons any day!

  3. Short and sweet, Sue. Love the sense of your freedom and happiness with life. Wish I could be as enthusiastic about biking to work, but then it’s not for me which makes reading your blog a breath of fresh air.

    • Sue says:

      One day soon, Penny. I think when the conditions are right the enthusiasm blooms. When the cars stop to let you pass, when you are cycling with drivers who are aware, it makes all the difference.

  4. jac says:

    You’d probably have to cycle along the Umgeni Penny and the experience moght not measure up to Sue’s rural idyll! O’ll wait for Susan to tkust dream on and wait for Susan to pedal the Melbourne hinterland!

    • Susan says:

      This Susan isn’t likely to be pedaling anywhere in Melbourne soon, I’m afraid. I have absolutely no co-ordination on a bicycle, but my legs and feet work quite well when in direct contact with terra firma, so walking is a better option for me.

      Those chipmunks look very cute. Rather like the squirrels in Cape Town – don’t you agree, Jac?

    • Sue says:

      The word bucolic springs to mind. Come on Susan, hit those Melbourne cycle paths, just keep your limbs in tact, please.

  5. jac says:

    Sur – if you read this it’s the only way I have of comms b’cs the ADSL system keeps breakimg down so it’s pot luck for everyone at the
    Moment. Telkom’s trying (???$)) to fix it.

Leave a Reply

