To find THE bookshelf

By Sue Trollip

When I hopped across the ocean I left most of my books behind. Now I’m looking for somewhere unique to store the few I still have. Some might say piled against the wall in the ‘entrance hall’ is unique, but I’d like something a little more conventional than that. I refuse to buy something generic. I want odd. But how odd is just odd enough?

booktree4http://www.gigazine.net

p_2_bookshelfhttp://www.decoholic.com

I will keep looking, without concern to the pile on the floor, for I know it’s not about the bookshelves but all about the books. In the words of Philip Pullman:

“After nourishment, shelter and companionship, stories are the thing we need most in the world.”

8 thoughts on “To find THE bookshelf

  1. jac dowling says:

    Couldn’t agree more Sue…in any case, if one’s to believe the best writers who always have their main character living among mountains of books, it’s the right way to go! perhaps a washing line strung in a convenient place might solve part of the problem, but there’s nothing to beat a chair and the floor.

    • Sue says:

      I am always amazed in movies when I see people climbing over books to move about their homes. I like a little space to breath and think and while books are the best for both those things I need blank space too.

  2. Susan says:

    I love those two pictures you found, especially the one that looks like a tree. I saw some interesting rectangular boxes at IKEA last week, hung at strange angles against the wall, almost as if they’d “fallen off” the cabinet beside them. Good luck in finding the right bookcase, but half the fun is in the actual search…

    • jac dowling says:

      Or, of course, ‘one’ could go totally rustic and green – wooden shelves, splinters removed without upsetting the character, set on bricks of clay natural to the area…your desert looks pretty red so, that and some natural wood might look pretty good – that’s if the washing line doesn’t work, and it probably wouldn’t because you’d have to stand under it and read the books upside down…

      • Sue says:

        I’m sure this is a terrible thing to admit, but there is so much ‘rustic’ outside I want a lot of ‘modern’ inside!

    • Sue says:

      Thanks Susan, I’m trying to decide whether the bookshelf would look as good without the chocolate lab at it’s roots.

  3. jac dowling says:

    Well, in certain European cities they string lines across a pedestrianised street and hang the look of the week from them – clothes, not people. I’ll try to think up an alternative to the washing line in idea #1!

  4. All I can think off are uniquely designed nappy stackers suspended from a four-poster frame.

Leave a Reply

