Goldfish, Tina Fey and basil … a rambling mind

by Sue Trollip

A colleague at work has four goldfish on her desk. I have never encountered goldfish living in such luxury. They have Mediterranean ocean blugoldfishe pebbles beneath their … fins and oxygen. They are also the happiest goldfish I’ve met. They dance in those oxygen bubbles then, I assume, speak to each other in Mickey Mouse voices. They seem to spend a lot of time playing together. Charades must be interesting with a three-second memory.

I recently finished Tina Fey’s book (she is rumoured to have received a $6 million advance for it) and I found two sentences of great wisdom in those pages.

‘Don’t be like that kid hesitating at the top of the watersides over-thinking things.’

So perhaps those goldfish know how to live right.

The other nugget was when it comes to the number one rule of beauty:

‘Who cares.’

And when I look at my hair this morning I know it will be my mantra for the day – hell who am I kidding, for the rest of the week … possibly longer.

There’s a basil plant on my window ledge that is also battling to contain its tendrils. So I made some pesto pasta for dinner, simply to help that Triffid out of its torment, somewhat.

And I’m blaming my ramblings on the weather, yesterday sunshine and daffodils, today snow!

3 thoughts on “Goldfish, Tina Fey and basil … a rambling mind

  1. jac dowling says:

    They may look very happy Sue, but they do just swim round and round and round – and ogle. Perhaps they have the key to everlasting happiness! hope your pesto was excellent…

  2. Susan says:

    Ah yes, Tina Fey does have a way of putting things, doesn’t she? I’m afraid I’ve always been one of those scaredy-cats at the top of the scary water slide. Perhaps it’s time to be more like the goldfish and dance about in the bubbles of life.

    • jac dowling says:

      Lovely thought Susan, dancing about in the bubbles of life. I wonder how your cats would view a bowl of goldfish – a chance to go fishing perhaps, with a bit of fun first?

Leave a Reply

