Dashing through the snow

By Sue Trollip

Yes, that’s what I did yesterday – well to be honest it was more of a shuffle than a dash. Who has snow boots before the first snow? From the squeals about frozen toes from all the ‘out of towners’ at the office, I’d guess no one. Last night the websites, with speedy delivery, that sell boots online made a fair killing in our little town.

But that’s not my story.

It’s Christmas. It’s snowing. It’s a real live wonderland out there.

People have gone insane. No longer is suburbia a dark inky well after sundown. It’s now an oasis which, I swear, could be seen from the moon. In our neighbourhood there are even Christmas lights on real pine trees. How … how … it’s beyond me, but it’s beautiful. Entire houses are swathed in lights, and downtown each tree is wrapped, and I mean entirely wrapped, in tiny sparkling white lights.

It’s majestic.

The world glitters between the falling snowflakes and I can’t be anything but idiotically happy every time I step outside.

I know it’s still a few days away, but MERRY CHRISTMAS!

6 thoughts on “Dashing through the snow

  1. Gill says:

    Hi Sue, Love reading your stories! Hope you are well and not too cold!!! I wish I was there, it’s getting hotter by the day here in Perth. We have been living here since 26 Oct and the weeks are flying by. Very happy to be here. Merry Christmas! Love Gill

    • Sue says:

      That’s fantastic Gill, I’m so glad you made it. I hope you enjoy every moment. And have an excellent family filled Christmas.

  2. Susan says:

    Sue, it sounds so magical! I have only ever experienced one Christmas in the snow – when I was 21 I went to Switzerland with my boyfriend and his family for a skiing holiday. That was a once in a lifetime memory that I carry inside myself like a little jewel. I remember it as if it happened yesterday. For three weeks I lived in a perfect picture postcard… no, a Christmas card world! One day it will re-surface somewhere in a book that I write because it is too good not to share. May you have a truly wonderful Christmas in your new land of wonders!

    • jacky says:

      And from us Sue. What a lovely piece – we loved it: brought back so many happy, snowy memories and beautiful places. Every possible good wish for a Merry C and a bumper 2015.

      • Sue says:

        Thanks Jacky – there’s a lot I’m hoping for in 2015 … even though 2014 has been rather eventful.

    • Sue says:

      Thank you Susan, and I’m glad you had a magical white Christmas to remember while you bask in the sunshine! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

