Awakening

by Penny M

What day is it?

Okay, so it might have something to do with the fact that I have woken up after a door to door, twenty-six hour journey that ended yesterday evening.

The beginnings of my other blog started in Dubai Airport, until a fellow traveller interrupted my thoughts to tell me of her journey to India (a two and a half hour flight away!). She painted a picture from the Exotic Marigold Hotel. I was glad I had watched that movie, twice in fact, and so could well imagine her delight. But the blog stopped there.

Freedigitalphotos.net - Ambro

freedigitalphotos.net – Ambro

I woke this morning with a movie in my head and a strong desire to capture it before it escaped my memory. I had no idea of the time – my mobile phone had somehow adjusted to Abu Dhabi time and I could possibly have slept for two days, without alarm.

I literally closed my eyes and typed what I saw in my imagination. Never mind the typos, the structure and whatever else good writers are supposed to control, I was on a roll and in the role of my life.

I had to go online to establish that it was GMT +2 on Thursday, 16 October. This was the time on my laptop which I had a hard time believing. It was 09.56 a.m. Forgive me – my blog is late, I think.

So, before I lose the emotions involved with the creation of my movie script …

5 thoughts on “Awakening

  1. Sue says:

    I think that’s exactly what writers are supposed to do Penny, close your eyes and type what you see – metaphorically of course.

  2. jacky says:

    That’s what I think too – but, what to do with the literally minded among us who require every wart and pimple to be explained?

  3. Thanks Sue and Jacky. Reality set in after the plot and a hefty dose of dusty housework took me out of the mood. I plan to get back in there a.s.a.p.

  4. Susan says:

    Sounds like you had a good time overseas, Penny. Glad you caught up on sleep, and that the muse is not far away from your dreams. Leave the housework and entertain the muse instead, I say!

  5. jacky says:

    Absolutely Sue. Housework’s a real muse-killer. And. . . I’ve decided that one’s soul speaks through the muse and shouldn’t be disturbed too much. Keep up with current trends, fine, but don’t ever sacrifice your soul on the altar of either PCness or what someone else decides is right. Does that make sense? it’s a constant itch beneath my skin – perhaps I’ve got it all wrong!

Leave a Reply

