Let’s raise our glasses to autumn

By Sue Trollip

Chardonnay, rosé, burgundy, I’m drunk on the opulence of autumn.

I’ve spent most of my adult life living at the coast in the heat and humidity of the city with a view of the blue-green sea and its bucking sea horses. It was warm all year around with not much in the way of seasons. My view also consisted of houses dotted between streets and trees with splurges of purple jacaranda blossoms.

I still miss that sky, steel-green in a storm or with windswept clouds and shimmering blue heat. Don’t get me started on the sunrise over the horizon, where every colour you can imagine mingles until the day breaks.

In the semi-desert that I now call home there are cerulean coloured lakes and a babbling river, but the rest of the countryside is 500 shades of browns and greens. With a lot of effort, and large green thumbs, some gardens are an oasis of sunflowers, hollyhocks, daffodils and black-eyed Susan’s. Here the summer sky is monotonously perfect, every day it’s picture book blue with a big yellow sun. (Did that sound like a complaint? It’s not.)

Then one morning autumn arrived and every day since I’ve been dazed by the glamour of the diamond and ruby coloured leaves.

October is also the month of pumpkin spiced lattes and pumpkin shaped cookies and ghosts and ghouls and witches and candy. Halloween, in all its sugary splendour. I’ll keep you posted …

Until then I’ll return to my couch with a glass of merlot to ward off the slight chill in the air. I won’t think of what’s to come as winter approaches, instead I’ll raise my glass and drink a toast to the glory of autumn.

9 thoughts on “Let’s raise our glasses to autumn

  1. jacky says:

    Beautiful Sue; makes me come over all goose-bumpy and damp eyed! From what I’ve seen, the North American Fall is one of the natural wonders of the world – wouldn’t it be a turn of the tables if it happened to wash off onto those who only see strife as their gift to mankind? You’ll soon be rustling through the woods knee deep in glorious mellow colours – enjoy, it’ll be there again next year. Thanks, and enjoy the nut-gathering squirrels and hibernating bears; and a further few glasses of merlot…

    • Sue says:

      It’s only the hungry bears that worry me, but it’s almost time for hibernating … so I’ll drink my merlot then dive under the covers and contemplate the good sleeps in winter.

  2. Susan says:

    That sounds gorgeous, Sue. Since I joined WordPress I have followed several American bloggers and many of them are now posting glorious pictures and descriptions of “Fall” and it really does seem to be the most beautiful season in the US. Enjoy it!

    • Sue says:

      Thanks Susan. I can’t believe the colours and of course everyone goes wild with the decorations . I will certainly enjoy it all!

  3. jacky says:

    It’s fine Sue – bears go to sleep when they hibernate so they’re not hungry; you could, of course, take a pumpkin pie on your walks, just in case; probably have them all queueing up at your kitchen door for seconds!

  4. Ha ha – can you bear it, Sue, a queue of admirers with fur b–ls? Seriously wonderful autumn here (U.K.) too, with winter whipping around the corner for the last two days.

  5. There are some lovely ‘word pictures’ in your post Sue. Do you write poetry? If not, then you should! Pumpkin spiced latte sounds good too – I wonder if I could get that here in the UK?

Leave a Reply

