Dr Seuss Days

 By Sue Trollip

My world has turned quite upside down.
My view has changed to country from town.

Durban1-1

Blue city sky

Instead of sunshine warming my face
I look to the sky then run to embrace
my sheepy slippers and new warm coat
it’s no more mermaid, ‘Hello,’ mountain goat.
Day is night and night is day
and at 2am I’m up to play.

DSC06292

Mountain snow

It’s white and chilly in the shiny snow.
No longer the beach it’s the mountains that glow
with golden sunshine shimmering sweet.
The sky’s still blue but with a lot less heat.
My life has tilted from East to West,
and my sunrise is now a sunset fest.

Sunrise over the Indian Ocean

Sunrise over the Indian Ocean

The ice cream is good and the coffee is hot,
the sourdough’s superb although Bovril there’s not
From South to North my world swung around
but brave, I’ll plant my feet on the ground.
And after more coffee for certain I know
tomorrow, perhaps, I’ll frolic in the snow!

12 thoughts on “Dr Seuss Days

  1. June King says:

    Just love it June

  2. Susan says:

    Oh Sue – what a tremendously exciting time for you! Enjoy frolicking in the snow at your new mountain home…

  3. Trish Ings says:

    Hi Soozi, miss you! Keep warm in that snowy whether and enjoy your new life in USA.

  4. jacky says:

    I
    I love it Sue – and you said you don’t do poetry?! Remind me to send an emergency supply of my famous Bovril vindaloo.

    • Sue says:

      Thanks Jacky, Bovril and a glass of Milo would be fabulous but I’m consoling myself with Hagen Das yes, ice cream works in the snow too – who knew!

  5. Hazel Bond says:

    I just love this poem and the illustrations. Well done. I wrote this previously but thing I forgot to press send

  6. Penny says:

    I love the poem and the pics. Is your last name Seuss? Way to go, Sue

Leave a Reply

